Buried Treasure In The Sky

June 25, 2012: Gold coins uncovered in a buried potsherd at Apllonia National Park in Israel may be worth half a million dollars or more.

About a month ago I made a bad mistake.  I left the garage door open.  The next morning I found both our vehilce rummaged through and my prescription sunglasses were gone.  I like them a lot.  I did not like someone violating my space and stealing my property.  I had some anger that welled up in me but got over it and did not both to call the police.  I figured that it would be considered a petty crime and not worthy of CSI level investigation.  I wish I could say I was all spiritual about this but really it was a matter of being practical.

But being spirual about that which is our material possession is definitely worth looking at and was found worth explanation from Jesus of Nazareth once upon a time.

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth where moth and rust consume and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust consumes and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also (6:21-23).

Viewing these words inspires me to be hypothetical and spiritual.  Suppose there was a knock on the door from a police officer and our country was tough on crime like ancient Sumeria.   Suppose the officer let me know they caught the guy and he should be executed soon unless I decide on mercy.  And suppose I did not because my prescription sunglasses and dignitiy was too import to me.  Where would I be?

Spiritually I would be bloated with my own sense of self importance.  I would be covered with my desire for other things that do not pertain to godliness and love.  I would be rich at the expense of spiritual blessings.

But the better I check where my desires come from the more I will be consumed with the richness of knowing Christ in this present age    Jesus said. “blessed are the poor in spirit, for thiers is the kingdome of heaven.

But how much do we truly believe in the treasures of Christ?  More to the point, how do we act on this desire that would not make us respect Him with servile obedience?  We know that some things of a person pass through flame in the individual’s experience but some do not.  Some last like gold and some do not.

Within the realm of how we view treasures is the issue of reinforcement.  If I am working hard on financial investements of a portfolio to blossom then I will be reinforved on my profit seeking behavior.  It will be dignital numbers on my iPhone and my brain will go “ding-ding” like a gambler on a slot machine.  It’s tangible and it’s mine.

But on a day to day basis, how is one to be reinforced positively towards good works? “We must consider how to rouse one another to love and good works.  We should not stay away from our assembly, as is the custom of some, but encourage one another, and this all the more as you see the day drawing near” (Hebrews 10:24-25).

Internal self-reinforcemnt to invest into what really matters? Not easy.  Going it alone our hype or emotion will take us only so far.  We may even self-congradulate ourselves or give ourselves tasks that are easy and from within our limited perspectives of the hurt of the world.  But in fellowship with others who know Jesus as Lord and Savior and you experience how the work of sanctification makes spiritual investment as a lifestyle another story entirely.  This is because together “you see the day drawing near”. Let this day inspire us not in servile fear but as disciples of Jesus and children of the Father.

Leave a Reply

